Spring 2016 Dates for Instructional Faculty

Spring 2016

Dates for Instructional Faculty Spring 2016

Residence Halls Open
(9 a.m.-12 noon for new students)
Thurs, Jan 7
Residence Halls Open
(9 a.m.- 5 p.m. for returning students)
Sun, Jan 10
Late Registration
(16-week semester)
Mon, Jan 11
Classes begin
(16-week semester and 1st 8-week term)
Mon, Jan 11
Instructor-initiated drop
(16-week semester and 1st 8-week term)
Tues, Jan 12 Fri, Jan 15
Last day to add courses
(By 5 p.m., Semester and 1st 8-week term)
Fri, Jan 15
Last day for seniors graduating this semester to declare Minors (B.A./B.S. students only) Fri, Jan 15
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
(No Classes)
Mon, Jan 18
Last day to drop a 1st 8-week course
(Without a grade of a W)
Wed, Jan 20
Last day to drop a 16-week semester course
(Without a grade of a W)
Fri, Jan 29
Declaration of Major is due
(B.A./B.S. students only)
Thu, Feb 4
Last day to change to/from a pass/fail grade
(1st 8-week term)
Wed, Feb 10
Last day to drop a 1st 8-week course
(Without a grade of F)
Wed, Feb 10
Evaluation of courses by students
(1st 8-week term)
Wed, Feb 17 - Sun, Feb 28
Last day of classes (1st 8-week term) Fri, Feb 26
Last day to withdraw from the University (all courses) if registered for a 1st 8-week course (students may not be enrolled for 2nd 8-week term if withdrawing from first 8-week term) Fri, Feb 26
Spring Break – Residence Halls Closed
(16-week semester)
Sat, Feb 27 - Sun, Mar 6
Final examinations for 1st 8-week term Mon, Feb 29 - Fri, Mar 4
Fredericksburg campus textbook orders for upcoming SUMMER session are due Fri, Mar 4
Classes resume (16-week semester) Mon, Mar 7
Classes begin ( 2nd 8-week term) Mon, Mar 7
Advising Period (B.A/B.S.) Mon, Mar 7 - Fri, Mar 18
Midterm Deficiency Reports Due Thurs, Mar 10 (12 noon)
Stafford campus textbook orders for
upcoming SUMMER session are due
Mon, Mar 14
Final grades due
(1st 8 week term)
Wed, Mar 9 (12 noon)
Exit Survey of currently enrolled seniors Mon, Mar 14 - Sun, Mar 27
Last day to drop a 16-week course
(Without a grade of F)
Fri, Mar 18
Last day to register for 2nd 8-week courses
(By 5 p.m.)
Fri, Mar 18
Last day to withdraw from a 16-week course
(Without a grade of F)
Fri, Mar 18
Instructor-initiated drop
(2nd 8-week term)
Fri, Mar 18
Last day to drop a 2nd 8-week course
(Without a grade of W)
Wed, Mar 16
Advance registration for upcoming Fall semester begins Mon, Mar 21 - Fri, Apr 1
Fredericksburg campus textbook orders for
upcoming FALL semester are due
Fri, Mar 25
Evaluation of courses by students
(16-week semester and 2nd 8-week term)
Mon, Apr 11 - Sun, Apr 24
Last day to drop a 2nd 8-week course
(Without a grade of F)
Wed, Apr 6
Multicultural Fair Sat, Apr 9
Last day of classes
(16-week semester and 2nd 8-week term)
Fri, Apr 22
Last day to withdraw from the University if registered for semester courses and/or 2nd 8-week courses if no grade has been received in a 1st 8-week term Fri, Apr 22
Reading Day Sat, Apr 23 - Sun, Apr 24
Grade change forms for Incompletes
(for Fall semester)
Fri, Apr 22
Final examinations
(16-week semester and 2nd 8-week term)
Mon, Apr 25 - Fri, Apr 29
Grades due for ALL graduating students
(16-week semester and 2nd 8-week term)
Mon, May 2 (noon)
Grades due for ALL non-graduating students
(16-week semester and 2nd 8-week term)
Thu, May 5 (noon)
Graduate Commencement Fri, May 6
Undergraduate Commencement Sat, May 7
Stafford campus textbook orders for
upcoming FALL semester are due
Mon, Jun 20